Basic question about how 5.1 tracks are played on 7.1 systems

Hi,

I have an obscure question that I’m not able to find the answer.

I believe most of us take for granted that a TrueHD or DTS HD 5.1 track will automatically be decoded and playback as 7.1 on a system with back surrounds.

Eg some movies are still release in 5.1 track only, eg interstellar.

My question is how is it done, is it a matrixed surround back, or is it discrete data in the surround back channels?

Believe this has been the case since DD and DTS days.

Thanks!!

i believe its done in the avr’s decoding chip to upmix it to 7.1 channels…
i dont think its “Discrete Data” at all…

1 Like

SoundWorks Collection: Dolby Presents Surrounded: 7.1 Cinema & Beyond

Old but gold clip on the advent of 7.1 soundmix.

My understanding is 5.1 is the most basic to create that enveloping sound effects. 7.1 or even Atmos are created simply because the listening space has expanded over the years in our “home”. For most Hollywood movies, studios will usually encode the bed layers in 5.1 discrete channels. As a result of DSP is getting better like Dolby Surround Upmixer (DSU) and DTS X Neural for instance are getting better in “extrapolating” the discrete channel info from Surrounds and “matrix” for the Surr-Backs. There is really no incentive to go for discrete 7.1. Do you still recall DTS used to release a very weird format called, DTS 6.1 Discrete where mono-channel was used to “fill in the audio gap” for sound coming from behind. This is all thanks to the craze over some of the more “atmospheric gaming titles” which rely on ambiance and stealth to win.

also got “DTS ES”…the movie title was,
“The Haunting”